Inspirational Posts

5 Reasons Why You Need To Simplify Your Content Strategy By Cole Hennen

As content creators, simplifying our content strategy can feel like the last thing that we should be doing if we want to make an impact online. With new articles appearing every day informing us about the next big thing that we have to be doing, it can be all too easy to fall into the trap of trying to juggle one hundred plates at once.

I stumbled across a more minimalist approach to content strategy when I reached full burnout last year.  I was struggling to keep up with an unrealistic editorial calendar and was desperately scheduling updates to social media platforms that bored me to death and weren’t getting me the results I dreamed about – sound familiar?

I came offline for months and, no longer consuming content that overwhelmed me with all the things I should be doing, I began to think strategically about how I actually wanted to achieve my goals.

It was here that I had a eureka moment – in so many other areas of my life from small things such as my wardrobe and living space to my diet, friendships and work, I was making breakthroughs and relieving anxiety when I took a step back and started to simplify.

Today I wanted to share 5 reasons why I’ve transitioned to a minimalist content strategy and why it will benefit you and your readers too.

 

1. A minimalist content strategy is built to help you actually achieve your goals.

 

This sounds painfully obvious but before I adopted a minimalist content strategy I’d spent far too many years faffing around with my online presence, throwing all kinds of strategies out there in the hope that something would stick.

So what makes a minimalist content strategy different?

A minimalist content strategy doesn’t encourage subtraction for the sake of it, rather it encourages you to identify the essential parts of your strategy and eliminate the rest. This way you have more time, energy and money to invest in the things that you love and really get results.

For example:

I was spending hours scheduling tweets that would see a handful of people directed to my blog. It made me feel bored and frustrated and wasn’t showing off my skillset- it had to go.

In contrast, writing guest posts (like this one!) is one of my favorite parts of my content strategy because it makes me feel connected to the online community and inspired to create the best content I can. Unlike the time and effort invested in scheduling tweets which showed negligible results, through a guest posting I’ve exploded my email list and made friends along the way!

Imagine the impact you could be having with your content if you started placing value on your time, only investing in tasks which saw real and exciting results.

 

2. A minimalist content strategy values quality over quantity.

 

It’s no secret that when it comes to marketing a product, service or simply yourself, content is king. It allows you to connect with people all over the world and position yourself as an expert in your chosen field – as the ever-wise Regina says ‘To your audience, you are your content’.

But it’s also true that with so many other demands on our time, more often than not instead of feeling inspired to connect with our audience, we can rush our content in order to get it out on time.

It’s easy to feel the demand to publish content 24/7 in order to remain current but the truth is your readers aren’t interested in your ability to churn out blog posts on a tight schedule, they’re interested in the wisdom, insight and experience that you have to offer them.

Take Pines Up North as an example, Cole’s not sharing content on a daily basis – the reason you (and I) hop right over to his blog as soon as an email lands in our inbox is because we’ve learnt to trust that his content will offer the unique insight and design wizardry we’re looking for.

Enter the evergreen content funnel…

sneak-peek

A minimalist content strategy is all about producing high-quality content that will stand the test of time and be organizing it in a way that encourages new readers to engage with your content on a deeper level and purchase your premium content again and again and (you guessed it) again!

Ready to create your own evergreen content funnel?  I got ya – here’s a FREE workbook to help you get started today!

content-upgrade-button (1)

3. A minimalist content strategy allows you to get the attention of influencers who will do your promotion for you.

 

High-quality content not only attracts your ideal reader but also allows you to prove your expertise to thought leaders in your industry who are happy to share your content as they trust it will benefit their audience.

Since adopting a minimalist content strategy I have more time to create long form content packed with as much valuable information as I can muster. Even though I no longer share my own content on social media, my traffic from Twitter has increased as influencers share my content for me!

influencer examples

 

4. A minimalist content strategy creates a consistent and focused brand experience

 

Not only does producing a large quantity of content inevitably reduce its quality, but it can also dilute your audience’s experience of your brand.

A minimalist content strategy encourages you to simplify your reader’s experience of your core message – instead of overloading them with information on a range of topics, with a focused and insanely useful evergreen content funnel you can get them to the very best of your work as soon as they land on your site.

 

5. A minimalist content strategy kills procrastination by giving you space to focus.

 

When I ask my readers what they’re struggling with, time and time again they respond that they can’t stop procrastinating! It’s something we all deal with on a daily basis – you know you want to launch a product but there’s just so much to do that it’s easier to binge Netflix then decide where to start.

For years I felt that my failure to see the results I wanted online was because I wasn’t organized enough. If I got organized, if I was more committed and if I got up a couple of hours earlier each morning then I would be successful. I didn’t realize that the majority of my procrastination was motivated by my own mental clutter -I was juggling so many strategies that when I sat down at my desk I just didn’t know where to start!

A minimalist content strategy has dramatically increased my productivity as I have the space to focus on the tasks that really matter.

By: COLE HENNEN of colehennen.com

Leave a Reply

